Tags

, , ,

A lot of my friends do not eat eggs for various reasons. This is the perfect cake that lends itself to any flour too. That means it can be made gluten-free as well. The other night in preparation for this post I made one. It was late and after a long day at work. Instead of the usual delicious butter cream frosting, I tossed a bunch of chocolate chips on top right after I took it out of the oven when it was done baking. The whole house smells of chocolate while this marvelously flavorful and light cake bakes.

I did not take photos that night and things do not last very long in this household.

Since I like photos with posts I have this one which shows it half-eaten – alas!

I have seen the recipe and many variations but I call it “Anne’s Wacky Cake” since she is the one who made it so often for her kids and she is my best friend (forever).

Try it! It’s magical!

Anne’s Wacky Cake (it’s egg-free)

Ingredients
1 ½ cups unbleached all purpose flour
1 cup sugar
¼ cup cocoa
½ teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda, remove all lumps
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon vinegar
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 cup cold water

Preheat oven to 350 degrees
Measure all ingredients into an 8 or 9 inch square or round cake pan. Blend all ingredients with a fork and make a large well in the middle of the dry ingredients. Pour wet ingredients in one at a time in the order given. Stir all ingredients together until they are well blended.
If you mixed this in a bowl, pour batter into pan or lined cupcake tins.
Bake 35– 40 minutes for a cake pan, 15 to 20 minutes for cupcakes.
Clean toothpick test – insert toothpick in the enter of the cake, when it comes out clean and dry – it is done.
Cool and frost anyway you like. (or throw a bunch of chocolate chips on top when it’s fresh out of the oven and watch them melt)

