Tags

, , ,

Julia, My KitchenAid Mixer Sometime in 2004 or 2005 I became reacquainted with Julia Child. I re-watched all of her videos. Read her cookbooks. Read several books about her life. I was obsessed. When I bought my beloved Kitchen Aid mixer in fire engine red of course, I immediately named it Julia, a tribute of sorts. It was a way to have her presence with me every time I entered my kitchen, which is as often as possible.

I was lucky enough to have worked for the New England Culinary Institute. First I was a banquet captain. I working directly with the all the instructor chefs and knew every student as they paraded proudly with some of their first creations in food for the banquet table. The students were all involved with making each event a fantastic one. Every detail down to the correct serving utensils is taught while they are working toward their degree. I being the forever-curious one learned as much as I could by walking into the kitchen during breaks and being a “fly on the wall” while the instructor spoke. I dearly loved the work in spite of the challenging hours I needed to sustain while raising three young children at the same time. One day my immediate supervisor asked if I would be interested in working in the administration office while a person was on maternity leave. I grabbed the opportunity as the schedule was routine and I could be with my family more regularly at times when they needed me most.

That’s when I discovered the institute included a fantastic culinary library. Each week I devoured several CDs, DVDs, books, and cookbooks. It was pure heaven for me. When I heard about an interesting book or DVD, I made recommendations to the librarian and often it was available within a month. Joy, pure, joy.

It was due to this resource that my adventure with Julia began. By the time the movie Julie and Julia was released I had already read the book as well as quite literate about Julia Child’s history. I love learning new tidbits so if you have one please share it with me.

Wednesday, August 15th marks Julia Child’s centennial birth date. I feel very honored to being able to share a little bit of my adoration for a woman who ran with her curiosity. She is an inspiration to many. I share in her excitement for life and for cooking. Who knows maybe I will apply to culinary school as a mascot grannie ☺ Meanwhile I intend to continue to putter in my kitchen creating various miracle concoctions. The universe will provide the space for me to run with my curiosity when it is meant to be.

Julia Child and her Husband, Paul one of their valentines

“We had a happy marriage because we were together all the time. We were friends as well as husband and wife. We just had a good time.”
― Julia Child

Thanks Julia and Bon anniversaire! Your spirit lives on forever.

