sometimes it takes time“Julia Child never dumbed anything down,” says Lynne Rossetto-Kasper of The Splendid Table whose radio show I listen to as often as possible. I get so excited and inspired, well, I can’t tell you what I would do. This past week Lynn shared interviews and glimpses of times she shared with Julia Child. I love listening to tips from masters. Both of these women are incredibly knowledgeable and generously enthusiastic to share what they have experienced. Both seem to be forever curious and always ready to learn something new.

It’s funny being a fan of so many great people. When I have the pleasure to meet anyone I admire greatly the burst of energy I share is, I imagine, somewhat overwhelming. I often hope I can meet folks I admire before they pass into a new cosmic universe. I didn’t meet Mister Rogers, John Cassavettes, or Julia Child however I have loved and admired their work for many years now.

Opportunity KnocksPaula Modersohn-Becker one of my favorite artists was friends with Maria Rainer-Rilke and lived in an artist’s colony in Germany. Imagine. I am so grateful for their works as well as having the opportunity to walk on the same roads and breathe in the surroundings of such incredible artists. I suppose it is just a romantic notion, wanting to live in a similar situation, after all “peoples is peoples.”

For the moment I am immersed in reading the letters between Julia Child and Avis DeVoto. I am finding their correspondence full of delightful wisdom on cooking, writing, and the social workings of society. I was just a wee babe when these two women “collided.”

I have never been much of a history buff however I have learned that through studying cooking. Food, wine, and human sexuality – history is most palatable.

